Running Recipe

There was a shift in my exercise approach within the last couple years. Previously, the main motivating factor for working out was wanting to lose weight/look good/not have to lay on the bed to try and button my jeans.

GGG 32.1

Which are all still very valid reasons for working out. But lately my main motivating factor is less about vanity and more about feeling good. My body (and brain) really *feel* the difference on the weeks I am able to sweat it out versus the weeks I act like the character in the soap opera that’s in a coma for like 5 episodes.

GGG 32.2

To increase my motivation for getting up off the couch, I try and sign up for races every once in a while. It’s less “racing” and more waving amicably at all the participants as they pass by while I promise myself that I’ll get to that finish line somehow. But it keeps me going to have a goal. I signed up for a Halloween 10k as a kickoff to the upcoming San Diego adventure, and training has been underway.

GGG 32.3

The best part about running/working out fairly consistently? Getting to eat more food and feeling pretty justified about it! The formula for this is fairly simple, and I encourage you to do whatever is best for you and your health – this recipe is my M.O.

GGG 32.4

EATING SOMETHING AND REMEMBERING YOU ALREADY RAN TODAY

Ingredients:
  • Whatever you are eating
  • An extra
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Cook/prepare/arrange/order your meal

GGG 32.5

2) Remember you ran that day

GGG 32.6

3) Add more!

GGG 32.7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Running Recipe

    • Yep! In all truth, this mentality sometimes also is used when I’ve thought about running as in “Oh, I should have another – I put on my workout clothes today and I’ll probably be working out tomorrow sometime.” No regrets.

Leave a Reply

