California Dreamin’

Big news over here – we are west coast bound! My partner landed an amazing job in San Diego, and after talking it through (insert pat on the back here for neither of us saying “YOLO” once during the decision-making process), we decided to meet this new adventure head-on.

GGG 28.1

At this point, I am still a bundle of excitement and nerves. It’s a big change. I’m hoping I find a job that’s great, some people that are equal parts lovely and sarcastic, and that there will be beaucoup opportunities to try out new dining & recipe experiences for the blog. I guess I don’t even know if people eat out there. Don’t they just subsist on avocado, sunshine and ocean breezes?

GGG 28.2

The other thing is that moving ain’t cheap. Everything starts adding up so quickly. So, in order to save some dollars this week, I’m turning to a recipe that has never let me down in times of pennies being pinched: Leftovers.

GGG 28.3

LEFTOVERS

Ingredients:
  • Remnants of a meal gone by (at least one serving)
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Give Mint.com the side-eye for being kind of snarky about your current financial status

GGG 28.4

2) Open your fridge and say something to the effect of “What have you got for me, sweetheart?” or “I believe in you, magical fridge of food possibilities – let’s do this!”

GGG 28.5

3) Find some of your delicious dinner from last night, and decide it’s good enough

GGG 28.6

4) Take a second to debate whether to try and recreate it or just eat it cold

GGG 28.7

5) Probably just eat it cold – still good!

GGG 28.8

14 thoughts on “California Dreamin’

  1. I can’t wait to see your first FISH TACOS blog! And I LOVE the AVOCADO thing. SOOOO true.
    I may have to share that. I think you guys need to make it a goal to eventually HAVE an avocado tree. They’re more expensive in the store out there WHERE THEY GROW, than they are HERE. Finally, your leftovers look better than many of my first-time-arounds! What IS that?❤

    • Having an avocado tree would be the best! Putting that on the “To Do In This Lifetime” list. And the leftovers were delicious because your son knows how to conquer a kitchen – it was some kind of tofu vegetable curry and it totally hit the spot!

    • Thanks – I hope you find your way out there someday! You gave me a great idea for job-hunting – I’ll just start dropping in on fancy offices that I see and let them know that I’m pretty fancy too and they should give me a job. I think that’s called networking…

    • Merci! When we made the pros/cons list of moving out for the job, fish tacos were actually a valid part of that list (in the pros, of course). And my parsley is totes food truck ready, so that should all work out fine.

Leave a Reply

