Grahams w/a Guest Chef

Chefs find their inspiration from so many places. What they are craving, what fresh ingredients they have access to, places they’ve traveled to that have broadened and intrigued their flavor profiles.

GGG 25.1

I think meal ideas also come from the people around us. It’s always a kick to eat an incredible dish only to also be regaled with a heartwarming story about the relative who created the dish years ago. I know when I meet someone new, talking about food is a great way to break the ice (break the bread?) and sometimes leads to new recipe inspirations.

GGG 25.2

Recently I was hanging out with someone I’ve known for about a year and a half. We have a lot of mutual friends, but haven’t hung out just the two of us in a while. We, of course, started talking about food, and she showed me one of her favorite snacks. It was so good, I wanted to share it with you (with her permission, of course). Izzy and I present to you: Graham Crackers in Milk.

GGG 25.3

GRAHAM CRACKERS IN MILK

Ingredients:
  • Smattering of graham crackers
  • Some type of dairy product
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Organize your ingredients

GGG 25.5

2) Pour out that milk, ensuring that it reaches appropriate dipping height

GGG 25.4

 

3) Get really excited about all the deliciousness that’s ahead

GGG 25.6

 

4) Dip away (careful not to let the graham get too soggy – timing is everything with this dish)

GGG 25.7

5) Enjoy your perfectly soaked cracker

GGG 25.8

Optional: Parsley waving

GGG 25.9

11 thoughts on “Grahams w/a Guest Chef

  1. Grahams crackers are a wonderful snack to keep in the pantry – they don’t disappear too quickly, yet, in a pinch they are always there as a faithful snack or cereal…I’ve never adorned them with parsley though – you may be onto something😉
    AnnMarie🙂

    • Totally – they are one of those snacks that I always forget about (sorry, grahams!), but when I find them off to the side I get super excited. Add milk & parsley and there’s a full-fledged meal on your hands!

  2. I just stumbled on this lovely little blog and I have to say your sense of humor is outstanding. And your parsley ain’t bad either. Thanks for the laughs! And the recipes.

    ps – graham crackers and almond milk happen to be one of my many late night snack go-tos.

Leave a Reply

