Brunch Bliss

I think it was somewhere in my mid-twenties that all the fanfare about meeting for late night drinks morphed into meeting for mid-morning brunch. 11am sunlight trumped 11pm moonlight/streetlight, 2-4-1 mimosas trumped 2-4-1 rail whiskeys; plus breakfast is the best meal of the day anyway (besides snacks), so the more attention paid to it, the better.

GGG 21.1

I totally get it. Being able to sleep in without feeling like you’re missing out, because you aren’t meeting for breakfast. You are meeting for *brunch*. You get to have alcohol with your pancakes and no one bats an eye. AND if you braid your hair you can joke with your friends that you’re part of the “Braidy Brunch,” and everyone will laugh at your cleverness.

GGG 21.2

I was so pleased when I discovered that I could serve up brunch in my very own home. Although I love heading out to dine, I also am on a tight budget, so having the option to prepare a lovely brunch in my kitchen is most welcome. I’ve included one of my favorite brunch recipes that I’ve perfected, but please feel free to share your own. The more brunch, the merrier!

GGG 21.3

CEREAL

Ingredients:
  • 1-2 bowl’s worth of cereal (do not pay attention to the serving size on the box – that won’t work for anyone)
  • 1-2 bowl’s worth of milk
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Realize you slept in and are hungry, which are the qualifiers for brunch

GGG 21.4

2) Pour cereal into bowl until you feel satisfied

GGG 21.5

3) Pour milk into bowl until you feel satisfied

GGG 21.6

4) Enjoy brunching!

GGG 21.7

12 thoughts on “Brunch Bliss

    • I’ll probably just start sending sprigs of parsley in the mail to Obama, so he starts getting a hint of what he’s missing by not having me as a chef there. Foolproof plan, probs.

    • A little kid asked me the other day what my favorite meal was, and when I told her snacks she wrinkled her nose and told me that didn’t count. She obviously has some learning to do, but I do believe she’ll get there.

    • When I was younger and we’d have “breakfast” (pancakes, cereal, eggs, etc) for dinner, it felt so wild. And that feeling hasn’t gone away. Not sure why breakfast food triumphs over all, but I’m more in the mood to eat it than question it.

  1. Your writing makes me smile! I love this post almost as much as I love breakfast – and that’s an awful lot! – I’m really going to try out the parsley too, it does indeed seem to effortlessly up the class of any meal😀 I also like that it is ‘optional’, making you feel you’ve gone that extra mile.

    • Thanks for reading – and I’m always happy to meet people who understand the epic awesomeness of breakfast! Best of luck with the parsley addition to your future meals – once you’ve gone that classy, there’s no turning back🙂

Leave a Reply

