Sensory Celebration

It is amazing what memories and feelings come up from just one scent or sound or taste. The smell of fresh cut grass = summer memories. A sip of boxed wine = first official hangover memories. A waft of pipe tobacco being smoked = loved grandparent memories. The first strains of that song you listened to on repeat after the break-up = ugly crying memories (or maybe currently happening don’t worry about it I’m fine).

ugly crying

Well, get your senses ready, friends, because it’s time to celebrate America, America-style. A lot of people are getting ready to fire up grills and slap on suntan lotion and set off firecrackers so close to your house it’s almost horrible but it’s not because freedom. I’m extra lucky, because my 4th’o’July celebration extends three extra days – three of my favorite people have birthdays lined up right in a row following the fireworks.

3 birthdays

I have so many sights/smells/tastes wrapped up in my memories of celebrating the 4th of July w/a 3 birthday bonus. In addition to the typical traditional tastes of grilled meats and corn on the cob, is carrot cake. This dessert is a favorite of the July 5th birthday girl, my amazing mother. Here’s a sneak peek at a carrot cake recipe I’ve prepped in the past that just might find it’s way into the birthday celebration this year – bonus: it’s 70% organic!

GGG 20.3

CARROT CAKE LUNA BAR

Ingredients:
  • 1 Carrot Cake LUNA bar
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Obtain LUNA bar with proper amounts of organic ingredients

GGG 20.4

2) Open the wrapper

GGG 20.5

3) Take the bar out of the wrapper

GGG 20.6

4) Place a celebratory candle up on there, and enjoy!

GGG 20.7

17 thoughts on “Sensory Celebration

  1. I always feel like people who eat Luna bars are in a special club that I’m proud to be a part of.
    The best flavors are the seasonal ones. Ummm HELLO, PUMPKIN SPICE AND GINGERBREAD.
    Enjoy your bar. Don’t enjoy the parsley.

    • Totally. I had a co-worker once tell me fairly disdainfully that my morning Luna bar was pretty much just a candy bar disguised as breakfast. And I had to tell her that yes, I was aware, and yes, that’s why they are the best. I’ve been all about the Honey Nut Pretzel as of late – yum!

  2. It gets me such a giggle every time you put a random sprig of parsley on this stuff.

    My favorite is the peppermint bark bar, because I like to pretend it’s heath food they just also happens to be covered in chocolate.

    • Not to give myself too much street cred, but I consider myself a pretty decent Luna expert, and I don’t think I’ve had that one! It sounds amazing (and totally healthy – pretty much just like a chocolate-covered carrot or something).

    • That would be tres awesome. One of the perks would be that the recipes are fairly simple, so most of the show would be just eating the food. Which is, ultimately, the best part!

    • Happy (actual) birthday today! It’s pretty much a win-win, because this recipe is organic, and the other recipe is vegan, so by default it means both are super healthy dessert options. Once you add the fact that there are veggies in there, it’s like you’re just eating air with a birthday candle in it!

    • Right? I’ve just heard too many struggles over the years of people trying to get this right. I’m not saying this recipe is *perfect*, but I really hope it helps people who have been wrestling with Luna bar preparation and execution.

  3. That is definitely one of the perks of the majority of these recipes. Immaculate is good, since the kitchen sometimes appears in these pics. Although there have been weeks where I just cleared dishes/utensils off the counter to the floor, shot the parsley-laden pic, and then stacked everything right back where it was. I should probably add that to the recipe instructions when that happens…

  4. I love your approach to food prep and the culinary end result is lovely with minimal time spent! Doesn’t even require a real kitchen escape plan😉 You’re a domestic wizard!
    AnnMarie🙂

Leave a Reply

