Tofu-licious

I haven’t had meat in quite some time (5 years or so?). When I was younger I was a vegetarian for a while, but it was mostly to tell people haughtily that I was a vegetarian. This is around the same time that I was wearing black lipstick and playing French horn in honor band, so there was just a lot going on back then.

GGG 13.1

When I decided to cut out meat this time around, I was a bit more informed and a bit less angsty about it. I remember being pleasantly surprised the first time I tried tofu when I went out to eat. Crumble it on salad! Fry it into crispy strips sprinkled with salt and black pepper! Stir fry it up with delish sauce and enjoy as it soaks up the flavor in a dreamy way! Tofu is awesome and versatile.

GGG 13.2

My number one go-to recipe for tofu is as a Sriracha Vehicle, as sriracha the best.

GGG 13.3

SRIRACHA VEHICLE TOFU

Ingredients:
  • 1 block of tofu
  • Sriracha
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Open the tofu (probably over the sink, to be safe)

GGG 13.4

2) You are supposed to press the water out of the tofu – I opt to squish it around in my hands

GGG 13.5

3) Crumble the tofu in a bowl

GGG 13.6

4) Pour A LOT of sriracha all up on there

GGG 13.7

5) Enjoy!

GGG 13.8

2 thoughts on “Tofu-licious

  1. I just ate a Sriracha and peanut butter donut tonight- amazing. Also, I definitely had a choke collar and wore black lipstick in my prime as well (no French Horn– I was a thespian). Parallel lives we live.

    • I read that first sentence approx. 10 times and verified I am not dreaming. That sounds incredible! And totally true about the parallel lives. I bet our angst-filled teen selves would have found many mutual reasons to roll our eyes at the world.

Leave a comment