No-reos

This blog is about enjoying, eating, and loving all things food. There are times, however, where I have indulged in a perfectly satisfying dish, and find myself going back for seconds, then wanting thirds, fourths, sevenths, even. My personal Achilles heel is anything with sugar in it.

Cookie Monster

So this post is kind of an anti-recipe, as I recently found myself consumed with thoughts of the leftover Oreos in our apartment, and needed to formulate a plan.

To be clear, this post is not encouraging depriving yourself when you are hungry or adhering to an unrealistic diet plan (whatever you like or need or want to do health-wise is 100% right on).

57166-Phil-Dunphy-thumbs-up-gif-grOa

This is simply a recipe I concocted that I wanted to pass on to those who find themselves in similar, precarious snacking situations.

GGG 12.3

NO-REOS

Ingredients:
  • 1 box of Oreos with 1/2 – 1/3 of the Oreos left
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Realize you are coasting through these Oreos like no one’s business and maybe even getting the sugar shakes

GGG 12.4

2) Shut the pantry door firmly and walk away with confidence

GGG 12.5

3) Find yourself mysteriously in front of the pantry again and the door is easier to open than you remember

GGG 12.6

4) Search for a place to stash Oreos so they are literally out of sight, out of mind

GGG 12.7

5) Find a basket of clean clothes that you haven’t folded in a few days, acknowledge to yourself that you will continue to steer clear of the basket, and bury those cookies

GGG 12.8

10 thoughts on “No-reos

  1. Hey there! Just wanted to stop by and say thanks for checking out my blog! I love this post and can totally relate to the Oreo battle you describe…it’s really a war of attrition. I look forward to reading more :)

    • I think the nice thing about the Oreo war is you technically win either way. Either you get self-control points or you get Oreos! My fave kind of win-win. Thanks for following!

    • So sorry – this comment ended up in the spam folder somehow & I just noticed it. Maybe Nabisco is behind it, not wanting people to educate themselves on how to stop the madness. Although, truth be told, I don’t know if soggy Oreos would even stop me. Deter, maybe, but not a guaranteed stop.

Leave a Reply

