More Like “Quick-peas”

Steering clear of meat (inadvertent pun, I promise) isn’t as difficult as one might think. Initially it took some adjustment to rethink how to get protein on the plate, but I now feel pretty good about the options I have in my repertoire. One little bean that packs a big protein punch is the lovely chickpea.

GGG 7.1

The first time I went to the store in search of these little guys, I couldn’t find chickpeas anywhere. I went home empty-handed, thinking I would need to find a specialty store (“Chickpeas’R’Us,” or the like). THEN I found out chickpeas are also called garbanzo beans, and they are totally a part of your basic grocery store bean shelf party. The more you know.

GGG 7.2

My favorite way to enjoy these tasty garbanzos is to roast them up, so they are slightly crunchy and mucho delicioso. Here are the typical steps I follow to make Roasted Chickpeas.

GGG 7.3

ROASTED CHICKPEAS

Ingredients:
  • 1 can of chickpeas/garbanzo beans (remember, these are the same thing)
  • 2-4 tbsp of olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cayenne pepper (optional)
  • Parsley for garnish (optional, but classy)
Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 425

GGG 7.4

2) Open the can of chickpeas

GGG 7.5

3) Drain  & rinse the chickpeas (someone told me to do this once, so I’m telling you, too)

GGG 7.6

4) Spread out the chickpeas on a cookie sheet.

GGG 7.7

5) Realize you have no olive oil left which is crucial to the recipe and your partner has the car and you are really really hungry and why was the bottle placed back in the cupboard when there wasn’t any left?

GGG 7.8

6) Give up on the roasting idea, turn off the oven, and slide chickpeas off cookie sheet into a bowl

GGG 7.9

7) Sprinkle some salt and maybe cayenne pepper on there, and give yourself credit for attempting to use your oven for something other than storage

GGG 7.10

17 thoughts on “More Like “Quick-peas”

  1. I was worried this recipe was gunna be a lot of work. so glad to see you stayed true to form.

    also, rinsing your beans gets rid of some of the sodium content, which they usually need.

    also, also, “rinsing your beans” …. definitely a euphemism, though I’m not sure what for.

  2. You are hilarious. I’m a fan of buying dry garbanzo beans in bulk and soaking them in water for a few days to plump them up to store-bought-can level. Less weird preservatives and cheaper… only problem is if you are impatient and pull them from the soak early, they’ll break your teeth.

    • I feel like my chickpea knowledge has expanded 300% in the last month. Good to know! And I’ll be careful with my teeth if impatience strikes (although I’ve been chewing Jolly Ranchers for years, so hopefully that training will pay off).

    • I’m finding I really loved roasted anything (beets, cauliflower, chickpeas…). Part of that might have to do with the fact that it was such a cold winter here and using the oven for roasting really warmed up the house. But the taste is definitely the main factor :)

  3. I love them mashed with fat free mayo, pickle relish and herbs. It’s tastes a lot like egg salad that my mom used to make when I was a kid. It’s one of my favorite new sandwich fillings.

    Such a yummy little versatile thing the chickpea.

    • Not gonna lie – I did use the can as a paperweight for a while. Turns out the whole “preparing & eating the chickpeas” thing is a much more delicious route.

Leave a Reply

